Section 5 of the Human Rights Commission Act No. 39 of 1996 provides that The Commission shall consist of the Chairperson, Vice-Chairperson, and not more than five other Commissioners.

The Commissioners shall be appointed by the President, subject to ratification by the National Assembly. The Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson shall be persons who have held, or are qualified to hold, high judicial office.